DJ LIQUID - The Remix Project Vol. 2

Label : Journees

Cat: JRNM452

UPC: 6 40687 04522 4

Genre: Electronic

This project is a lethal compilation of mostly unreleased Journees Music songs by the label's founder, Dj Liquid. The styles here are next school: trance, house breakbeat, bangin' progressive house with a twist of techno and funk. This cd is what electronica is all about. The Do-it-Yourself state of living. Make the music, live the music and sell the music. The Journees Music family owns one of the hottest dance music stores on the West Coast, Remix, named after their popular clothing name of the same name.


DJ Liquid - The Remix Project, Volume 2 (Journees Music)

There are a thousand dance discs in the Naked City. This is one of them. And, since it's a disc of remixes by DJ Liquid, it sounds a bit like many of the others -- not that that's a bad thing. After a decade of mixing dance and electronic and whatever the latest Ambient-Emo-Traceadelic-Breakbeat name club music goes by, he's taken some old favorites and redone them enough to sound deliciously different, often in cahoots with other pseudonyminous mixers. The opening track "Echosphere - Pulse" gets redone as "The Racing Into The Future Mix," reminding the listener of those early electronic posers Yello. Later "Dancing Barefoot" appears, which sounds nothing at all like the Patti Smith hit of yore. A buddy DJ Foxx drops by, and what appears but a new version of "Absinthe." The mixing creativity is endless!

Twelve songs total, and they present a good balance between the similarity needed to preserve Truth in Genera, and sufficient uniqueness to keep the short attention span listener tuned in for the whole disc. On one level, this disc is just another brick in the electronic wall, but for being that, it's a strong, solid brick with interesting texture, variation in color and a good solid feel in the Walkman. - Carl F Gauze (Ink19)


Track Listing

1. Pulse [DJ Liquid's Racing into the Future Remix] - Echosphere
2. Absinthe - DJ Foxx
3. Onetwosix
4. Skin Deep [Instrumental]
5. Bumpin
6. One Hand Clapping [Fresh Edit]
7. Remix
8. Dancing Barefoot
9. Mixed Visions
10. One Step Beyond
11. Ascension [DJ Liquid Remix] -
12. Doom [Instrumental]